Beta Alpha Psi Recognizes Outstanding Faculty Advisors with Award

Samantha Simunyu

Published August 12, 2016

Durham, N.C. – The Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award sponsored by RSM US LLP was presented to four advisors at the Beta Alpha Psi Annual Meeting in Baltimore, MD on August 4, 2016. Recipients were Sarah Bee, Seattle University (Delta Eta Chapter); Jimmy Carmenate, Florida International University (Eta Iota Chapter); Catherine Lowry, University of Massachusetts – Amherst (Delta Nu Chapter); Brian McGuire, University of Southern Indiana (Lambda Mu Chapter); Kelly Noe, Stephen F. Austin State University (Epsilon Mu Chapter); Lisa Owens-Jackson, North Carolina A&T State University (Zeta Sigma Chapter); J Shaw, University of Mississippi (Alpha Theta Chapter); and Carl Keller and George Schmelzle, Missouri State University (Theta Pi chapter). 

The award recognizes faculty advisors who make substantial contributions to the professional growth and development of business financial information students. Faculty Advisors often work many additional hours to be present at various Beta Alpha Psi meetings, community service activities, firm receptions, member initiations, and to meet with chapter officers to plan for the months ahead.

In addition to being recognized in front of their chapter and their peers, recipients also receive a plaque and a $5,000 cash award from RSM US in recognition of their achievements.

“This award can only serve as a starting point to show the appreciation these faculty advisors deserve,” said Jen Shepley, RSM US LLP Talent Acquisition Manager. “Many of them work tirelessly to make sure their chapters are successful and their members are receiving the benefits they need to become well-rounded professionals. It is because of these individuals that Beta Alpha Psi continues to be the premier accounting, finance and information systems honor organization that it is today.” 

Thought of as a true acknowledgement of appreciation for all that faculty advisors do, the award has been in place since 1969, when it was first established in memory of Richard E. Claire by the Andersen Foundation. The 2016 Outstanding Faculty Award winners will join more than 224 of their peers in receiving the distinguished award.


About Beta Alpha Psi

Founded in 1919, Beta Alpha Psi is an honor organization for financial information students and professionals. The primary objective of Beta Alpha Psi is to encourage and give recognition to scholastic and professional excellence in the business information field. This includes promoting the study and practice of accounting, finance and information systems; providing opportunities for self-development, service and association among members and practicing professionals, and encouraging a sense of ethical, social and public responsibility.

Headquartered in Durham, NC, Beta Alpha Psi has over 300 chapters on college and university campuses with over 300,000 members initiated since Beta Alpha Psi's formation.